top of page
Steering wheel

DUI

The state of Colorado does not take driving under the influence (DUI) charges lightly, and neither do I. I understand the far-reaching effects a DUI can have on your life. I am ready to do everything I can to minimize those effects for you.

 

I have nearly 17 years of legal experience, much of that spent in courtrooms throughout the state, fighting every level of criminal charges. Not all criminal defense attorneys readily take a case to trial. They will attempt to negotiate a plea bargain whenever possible and have actually tried very few cases.

​Colorado defines DUI as driving while impaired by alcohol or by one or more drugs. Having a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 percent or more is considered proof of a per se DUI offense. Penalties, which depend on how many offenses you have, may include:

First Offense

Minimum jail time from five days up to one year. The judge has the discretion to suspend the jail time if the offender agrees to an alcohol or drug treatment assessment. A fine ranging from $600 to $1,000, which the judge can suspend. Between 48 and 96 hours of public service, which the judge cannot suspend. License suspension of nine months, but may shorten with interlock restrictions.

Third Offense

Minimum jail time of 60 days up to one year, which the judge may not suspend. A fine ranging from $600 to $1,500, at the court’s discretion. Between 48 and 120 hours of public service. Possible probation up to two years, depending on other sentencing and programs. License suspension of two years. Interlock restricted license for at least two years.

Second Offense

 

Minimum jail time of 10 days up to one year, which the judge may suspend in lieu of sentencing alternatives. A fine ranging from $600 to $1,500, at the court’s discretion. Between 48 and 120 hours of public service. Possible probation up to two years, depending on other sentencing and programs. License suspension of one year. Interlock restricted license for two years.

After Third Offense

 

After a third offense, any further related offense becomes a Level Four felony. Aggravating factors can increase the penalties at any level.

Even if your BAC test came back over the legal limit, do not assume your situation is hopeless. You do have defense strategies available to you, and I will fight for your rights.

bottom of page